Chapter 2 : Programming Basics

This forum contains all the assignments and questions readers may have for each chapter.

Moderator: gary.bennett

Chapter 2 : Programming Basics

Postby gary.bennett » Sat Aug 14, 2010 3:21 pm

Programming Basics
    Taking a Tour with Alice
    Navigation Menu
    World Window
    Classes, Objects, and Instances in Alice
    Object Tree
    Editor Area
    Details Area
    Events Area
    Creating an Alice App—To the Moon Alice
    Your First Objective-C Program
    Installing Xcode
    Launching and Using Xcode

Weekly Q&A for Objective-C for Absolute Beginners Book

Purpose: Answer questions about Objective-C and OOP from book or other related info.
This Webinar is held every week on Wednesday, from:
6:30 PM - 7:30 PM PST
Register Now at:
https://www2.gotomeeting.com/register/763610930
Once registered you will receive an email confirming your registration with information you need to join the Webinar.
System Requirements
PC-based attendees
Required: Windows® 7, Vista, XP or 2003 Server
Macintosh®-based attendees
Required: Mac OS® X 10.4.11 (Tiger®) or newer
Attachments
Ch02 - MoonProject.zip
Chapter 2 Source Code
(32.35 KiB) Downloaded 363 times
gary.bennett

Re: Chapter 2 : Programming Basics

Postby AngelArs » Sun Dec 09, 2012 9:55 pm

Hi Gary, What version of Alice does your chapter 2 plug in work with?

I tried to use it with the current version and got the error message "not backward compatible".

Also, what version of Alice was used in the book? The new version of Alice does not have any of the same files, and I think it would just be easier to delete it and install whatever version the book uses. Thanks!
AngelArs

Postby gary.bennett » Mon Dec 10, 2012 10:35 am

AngelArs wrote:Hi Gary, What version of Alice does your chapter 2 plug in work with?

I tried to use it with the current version and got the error message "not backward compatible".